PCBA Foundation

You are here


The Peoria County Bar Association Foundation was established on October 2, 1970, as a 501(c)(3) tax exempt entity, organized and operated exclusively for charitable purposes under the leadership of Golden A. McConnell and J. Martin Lawless, then-President and Secretary-Treasurer, respectively, of the Peoria County Bar Association (“PCBA”). The mission of the Foundation is to make grants “…with a view toward the advancement of the science of jurisprudence, the promotion of the administration of justice, the encouragement of a thorough legal education, the upholding of the honor and dignity of the Bar and the perpetuation of the history of the profession and memory of its members.”

The Trustees consist of the four officers of the PCBA and the Chief Judge of the Tenth Judicial Circuit, as well as at-large trustees.  At the Trustee’s meeting on October 6, 2014, the Trustees adopted a Restated Trust Agreement that consolidated all of the prior amendments and modernized the terms of the Trust Agreement.  Additionally at that meeting, Rex Linder and Karen Stumpe were elected as at-large trustees. 

From 1970 until 2001, the Foundation was sparsely supported by a handful of dedicated PCBA members. As required in the original Foundation documents, the distribution of the funds were regularly applied to educational purposes, supporting the annual celebration of Law Day through activities with area schools.

Membership Memorial Program – 2001

In 2001, under the guidance of then-President David B. Mueller, the Membership Memorial Program was instituted, whereby PCBA members were notified of the passing of a fellow member and invited to contribute to the Foundation in their memory. The Foundation funds began to increase as a result of this program, and have continued to do so.

Diversity Scholarship Program – 2005

In 2003, then-President Robert H. Jennetten formed the ad hoc committee on diversity, and selected Timothy L. Bertschy as its chair.  In the winter of 2005, the Committee began a pledge drive to fund a Diversity Scholarship Program under the umbrella of the Foundation.  For a list of the Scholarship recipients and to learn about the complete work of the Diversity Committee click here

The Fellows Program – 2006

The Fellows Program was initiated on September 19, 2006, with the goal of increasing funding the Foundation by President Dennis Triggs.  Initially, the Fellows were a special group of lawyers who have committed to paying now or pledging over ten years a donation of at least $1,000.

On November 30, 2006, an inaugural reception was held in partnership with the following firms:

Cassidy & Mueller

Elias, Meginnes, Riffle & Seghetti, P.C.

Hasselberg, Williams, Grebe, Snodgrass & Birdsall

Heyl, Royster, Voelker & Allen, P.C.

Hinshaw & Culbertson L.L.P.

Howard & Howard Attorneys PLLC

Johnson, Bunce & Noble, P.C.

Kingery, Durree, Wakeman & Ryan, Associated

Miller, Hall & Triggs

Quinn, Johnston, Henderson & Pretorius, Chtd.

The Janssen Law Center

Westervelt, Johnson, Nicoll & Keller, L.L.C.

Since 2006, the following members and firms have contributed or pledged at the Fellows level of $1,000 to support the Foundation and its mission, including the Diversity Scholarship Program.  Those identified with an asterisks are the “Charter Fellows” of the Foundation:

Frederick W. Allen*

Lyle W. Allen* D

Ann D. Bartolo

Nicholas J. Bertschy*

John F. Boos

Thomas F. Broderick

Bridget Burke

Timothy J. Cassidy*

Kerry R. Cordis

Robert V. Dewey, Jr.*

Edward R. Durree*

Honorable Richard E. Eagleton*

Theodore L. Eissfeldt

John and Cynthia Elias

Dean R. Essig

Jordan A. Fifield*

Michael D. Gifford*

Wayne L. Hanold*

Michael R. Hasselberg*

Matthew S. Hefflefinger*

Stephen J. Heine*

R. Michael Henderson

Gregory Q. Hill*

David M. House

Gregory A. Hunziker*

Frank W. Ierulli

Elizabeth L. Jensen*

David E. Jones*

James F. Kane

Homer W. Keller* D

Arthur R. Kingery*

Karl B. Kuppler

Darin M. LaHood

Phillip B. Lenzini*

Thomas A. McConnaughay

Honorable Joe Billy McDade

Honorable Mary W. McDade*

Brian J. Meginnes

Kevin M. Miller*

Clifton J. Mitchell

David B. Mueller*

Janaki Nair

Gary D. Nelson

Christopher A. Nichols*

John P. Nicoara*

Kent A. Noble*

Thomas W. O’Neal

Murvel D. Pretorius, Jr.

Gary T. Rafool

J. Reed Roesler*

Brian W. Ruddell

Leonard W. Sachs*

Henry A. Schmitt*

L. Lee Smith*

Debra L. Stegall

Kevin F. Sullivan*

Bruce E. Thiemann*

Thomas H. Trager

David J. Walvoord*

David L. Wentworth II*

Walter W. Winget* D

John M. Wyant*

Craig S. Young

Richard W. Zuckerman*


The following members have pledged or contributed at the Silver Fellows level of $2,000 or above to support the Foundation:

Timothy L. Bertschy*

James R. Carter*

Honorable John A. Gorman*

Timothy J. Howard

Donald R. Jackson*

Jay H. Janssen*

Robert H. Jennetten*

Karen L. Kendall*

William R. Kohlhase*

Michael R. Lied*

Rex K. Linder*

Honorable Michael P. McCuskey*

Hon. Thomas L. Perkins*

John R. Pusey*

Dennis R. Triggs*

Sonni Choi Williams*

Pillars of the Bar

In order to promote participation in supporting the Foundation, the PCBA and the Foundation have recognized the following lawyers who throughout their careers have significantly distinguished themselves in the practice of law and in their professional and community activities and who have set an example to which others aspire:

Class of 2005

Frederick W. Allen

Lyle W. Allen

Robert G. Day, Sr.

Homer W. Keller

Robert A. McCord

Gene A. Peterson

William L. Rutherford

Joseph Z. Sudow

Donald F. Vonachen


Class of 2010

John E. “Jack” Cassidy, Jr.

Hon. Richard E. Eagleton

Jordan A. Fifield

J. Martin Lawless

Robert H. Miller

Hon. E. Michael O’Brien

John C. “Parky” Pankhurst

Harry H. Sonnemaker, Jr.



Class of 2015

Hon. William V. Altenberger

Jay H. Janssen

Hon. Joe Billy McDade

Hon. Mary W. Mcdade

Gary T. Rafool

John A. Slevin

Hon. Calvin R. Stone

Thomas H. Trager

Walter W. Winget

Hon. William H. Young


Contact Us

Please click here to contact us via easy web form.

Prairie State Legal Services

Prairie State Legal Services offers free legal services for low income persons.